Title to be decided on wins

The F1 WDC will be awarded to the driver with the most race wins, rather than points, from this season. The FIA agreed the proposal of Bernie Ecclestone. It  rejected the proposal of FOTA which wanted to change the points system to 12-9-7-5-4-3-2-1.

Under the new regulations, if two or more drivers finish the season with the same number of wins, the title will go to the driver with the most points. The remainder of the standings, from second to last place, will be decided by the current points system, with the constructors’ championship unaffected.

There has been a mixed response all around to the new points system agreed by the FIA. Many fans think that new system will disregard values of consistency and WDC getting deciding as early as German grand prix (e.g.) and no excitement left towards the end of season.

“However a dominant year is a dominant year and the guy on top wins whatever the points system” – James Allen

Last season Hamilton would have lost out because Massa won six races to his five.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts